If you get hurt in a pedestrian accident in Enfield, CT, hold the at-fault party accountable. In this instance, you may be able to file a personal injury claim. To find out if you can, reach out to an Enfield personal injury lawyer to discuss your legal options.
If you are interested in submitting a personal injury lawsuit, Aeton Law can help you out. We can connect you with an experienced Enfield pedestrian accident lawyer. To get started, contact us today.
Connecticut Pedestrian Laws that You Need to Know About
Approximately 8,000 pedestrians were killed in crashes on U.S. roads in 2021, according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Connecticut regulators have enacted regulations designed to protect pedestrians against crashes and other dangers. Some of the pedestrian laws in place include:
Yielding to Pedestrians at Crosswalks
According to the Center for Environmental Excellence, a driver must yield to a pedestrian who steps off a curb or into a crosswalk. The motorist must stop if the pedestrian is within any part of the crosswalk or indicates that they intend to cross. If a driver violates this regulation, they can receive a $500 fine and have points added to their driver’s license.
Signal with Intent to Cross the Street
To tell a driver that they intend to use a crosswalk, a pedestrian can raise their hand toward oncoming traffic, make eye contact with the motorist, or move any part of their body. If a driver sees a pedestrian do any of these things but does not stop their vehicle so this individual can use a crosswalk, they are violating a Connecticut law. The punishment for this action is a $500 fine and points put on their driver’s license.
Per Conn. Gen. Stat. §14-300j, it is illegal for someone to open a car door if they could come into contact with moving traffic. For example, a driver may park their car on the side of the road, open the door, and hit a cyclist who is traveling in a nearby bike lane. In this example, the motorist can be punished.
If you have questions about pedestrian laws in Connecticut or other legal topics, you are not alone. An Enfield pedestrian accident attorney from Aeton Law can answer any legal questions you have. For more information, get in touch with us.
Who Is at Fault in an Enfield Pedestrian Accident
If you cross the road in a crosswalk in Connecticut, you have the right of way over all vehicles. In an instance where a motorist crashes their car into you, they can be held accountable. You can file a claim against the driver’s insurance company and request compensation for your medical bills and any other losses that you incur.
All Connecticut drivers are required to have auto insurance. The minimum liability coverage requirement is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident based on bodily injuries. It is also mandatory to have at least $25,000 in insurance coverage per accident for damage to property.
Even if a driver has auto insurance, it does not guarantee that their policy will cover the full amount of your pedestrian accident. A pedestrian accident lawyer in Enfield can help you file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver. This lawsuit may allow you to get full compensation for all of your accident-related losses.
How Much Time You Have to File a Pedestrian Accident Lawsuit
Connecticut has a two-year statute of limitations relating to personal injury lawsuits. Based on this statute, you have up to two years from the date of your pedestrian accident to sue anyone responsible for damages. If you decide not to submit a claim during this window, you cannot do so at a later time and are solely responsible for your losses.
In the days after a pedestrian accident, consult with a pedestrian accident attorney in Enfield. This allows you to discuss your collision and get legal insights into it. The lawyer can explain your legal options and help you decide if it is in your best interests to sue an at-fault driver.
If you decide to submit a personal injury claim, your attorney can calculate your damages. They will account for your economic and non-economic losses. You may be able to request compensation for your medical expenses, lost wages, pain, suffering, and other losses that are quantifiable or subjective.
How Much Compensation You Can Get in a Pedestrian Collision Lawsuit
You may do everything you can to stay safe from pedestrian accidents. Regardless, a negligent motorist may slam their vehicle into you, which causes a minor or major injury. The severity of your injury, the losses you suffer, and other factors can impact how much money you can receive in your personal injury lawsuit.
Of course, to get any compensation in your lawsuit, you must prove that the motorist was negligent. To do so, you must show a judge or jury that the elements of negligence were present at the time of your accident. There are four elements that you need to account for:
- Duty of Care: This means it would be reasonable to expect the driver to follow the rules of the road to protect you and other pedestrians and motorists.
- Breach of Duty of Care: If a driver breaches their duty of care, they violated a law, which led to your accident.
- Causation: Since the driver had a duty of care that they violated, you were involved in an accident and suffered an injury.
- Damages: The accident caused you to incur losses.
To prove negligence, gather evidence that supports your claim. Photos, videos, medical records, and other pieces of evidence can help you show that a driver was negligent and caused your accident and injury. Your lawyer can work with you to collect evidence and present it to a judge or jury.
Partner with an Enfield Pedestrian Accident Lawyer
Aeton Law is a Connecticut personal injury law firm unlike any other. We have more than 50 years of injury case experience and provide a no-worry, no-fee guarantee. To schedule a free pedestrian crash case consultation, contact us today.